History of Lagg Hotel on the Isle of Arran
Lagg is one of the oldest hotels on the island. The hotel was built in 1791 and was used as a coaching inn with a few bedrooms on the first floor.
It appears that Lagg remained largely unchanged until the 1950s and 1960s when the Crook family extended to the back of the hotel, thereby creating the kitchen, our large dining room and majority of bedrooms.
Situated in a unique hollow on the southern tip of the Isle of Arran, Lagg in Kilmory has never been short of admirers due to its picturesque setting and extensive gardens.
The gardens have also enjoyed much use over the years, from tennis matches on the front lawn to the famous setting for afternoon tea during the 1950s.
Arran was a most popular destination for day-trippers and many enjoyed refreshments at Lagg during their Round Arran tours, in numbers of up to 200 in one afternoon.
Lagg hotel is one of the oldest coaching inn's on the Island. It's traditional charm has been retained inside and out